Why People are Fleeing the Church


Quitting Church: Why the Faithful Are Fleeing and What to Do about It

by Julia Duin


First things first: This is not a review of Julia Duin’s book. It is a response to the reviews (varied ratings from 1 star to 5 stars) I have read about the book: “Quitting Church: Why the Faithful Are Fleeing and What to Do about It” by Julia Duin.

The topic is rather large, and while there are those who seem not to notice, even people outside the church have noticed that the church in America over-all is hemorrhaging congregants.

I read a relatively small book recently (it was published in 2010, I only read it in 2019) that maxes out at 99 pages, not including Appendixes. A man named Ray Comfort wrote it. The title is God Has A Wonderful Plan For Your Life” subtitled “The Myth of the Modern Message. There are over 250 THOUSAND copies in print.

It not only talks about the reality of the hemorrhaging congregants of churches, it puts a finger directly on the reason – and gives the direct answer to it.

I highly recommend Ray Comfort’s book. After reading it myself and being completely clarified on the issue (I was one who left the church at age 17 to stay gone for over 40 years – until this year) I bought 10 of them at once so I would have copies to hand out. If they hadn’t already all gone like hot cakes, I’d be offering them here!



View all my reviews

Leave a comment