Lions For Lambs         2007

Robert Redford, Meryl Streep
A powerhouse cast led by Robert Redford, Meryl Streep and Tom Cruise stars in this compelling examination of the U.S. war on terror, inter-cutting the stories of a liberal professor, a hawkish U.S. senator and a skeptical journalist. (Drama, 91 minutes)
Aired on SHOWTIME TOO

Great watch, and worth it. As I sit here, on my bed, nearing 50 years of age and disabled several times over, I find myself asking the age old question "What can I do with my life that will make a difference?"

Frankly, I’ve had some rather colorful and imaginative thoughts cross my mind in answer to that question. One being, I could wheel myself in front of the White House (more like maybe the capitol building in my own state) grab a megaphone and say something that would be enlightening, frightening, and real then get shot down by my government.

Why would I come up with such a violent scenario? Because just going ‘postal’ is relegated to the mysteries of human tolerance breaks that pile up day after day and the most they get is a shrug. Because just writing my "representatives" is something I’ve been doing for years now, to no avail. Because I can’t go into the military for many reasons (all including that they wouldn’t take me) and I can’t run for office because there is now so much corruption I doubt even a stubborn American of Scottish and German descent could withstand it long enough to stay clear of becoming corrupt by time someone heard whatever I was saying.

It’s desperate. I know that. That’s why I’m sitting on my bed writing instead of buying a bus ticket to the nearest capitol. It’s probably not much more of a reason to not act than most of us have. Why not? I’m getting older, more crippled, and with every passing day there is another organized assault on the programs that barely cover my rent and what is supposed to pass for ‘health insurance’. I’ve had to scratch, claw, bite and kick for every scrap I’ve gotten from health insurance that has made any appreciable difference in my life.

And at the same time, I find myself ruminating over the fact that my minuscule studio apartment and it’s contents aren’t worth a garage sale here in the United States of America, but worth a fortune to a person in a third world country. I have running water, electricity, an indoor toilet and shower. This is how I keep my hopes up: to compare my situation with a third world country so I can feel grateful for what I have.

This is not a good sign.

How many of you out there have stories about what has happened to you and your family in the last decade that would have horrified you to hear in the 90’s? Stories worse than mine, stories better than mine. You can compare to me all you want, but the truth lies in comparing your current situation to the situation you lived in in the 80’s or 90’s.

Frightening, isn’t it?

Well, it’s about to get more frightening.

There is no "new strategy". The "War on Terror" is bogus. You can’t make war on an emotion. Terror is an emotion. Terrorism is alive and well both at home and abroad. Do we want it to stop? OF COURSE WE DO. But is ‘war’ the answer to it?

As I write this I think of our young men and women, fine upstanding citizens of our country, now in uniform, serving our country. They are brave. They are strong. They are determined. They are the lions.

The lambs are those making the decisions at the top.

Watch this movie if you can. It will make you think. A lot.

